Skip to main navigation Skip to main content Skip to page footer

Department of Political Science and Public Administration


The Postgraduate Programme in Southeast European Studies is an one-year, English-speaking programme. It was originally founded in 1999 as part of a broader project ("U/SEE Project"), under the auspices of the European Union's Royaumont Process. The Universities which participated in the "U/SEE Project" were the following: University of Tirana, University of Sarajevo, Sofia University, University of Zagreb, University of Belgrade, Sts Cyril and Methodius University of Skopje, Eötvös Loránd University of Budapest, University of Bucharest, University of Maribor, University of Ankara and University of Athens. Since its foundation, the Programme has been organised and run by the Department of Political Science and Public Administration of the University of Athens.

The Programme was founded at a time of violent upheaval in Southeastern Europe, with the goal of contributing to the promotion of peace, democracy and reconciliation in the region. It aims to stimulate discussion and promote awareness of the region, to facilitate cross-border academic and scientific cooperation, and to bring together students from all over the region and beyond in order to promote mutual understanding and good neighbourly relations. Among the Programme's strong assets is its multinational and interdisciplinary character.

 More information at the Programme's website